Vishen Pillay

Vishen  Pillay

Vishen Pillay


Patent Attorney


  • Specialisation

    • Drafting patent specifications (particularly in the fields of electronic and computer related inventions)
    • Filing and prosecuting local and foreign patent applications
    • Filing and prosecuting local and foreign industrial design applications
    • Patent searches and competitive analyses

  • Bio

    Vishen Pillay is a partner in the patent department. He has a background in electronic engineering (UKZN) and is an admitted attorney and patent attorney.

    Vishen has 16 years of post-qualification experience in IP and specialises in assisting his clients to protect their inventions in the fields of electronics, computers, software, telecommunications, mechanical engineering, electro-mechanical engineering, and bio-medical engineering.  In particular, he deals with all matters relating to filing and prosecution of patent and design applications in South Africa and abroad, as well as IP strategy.

    Vishen has drafted and prosecuted patent and design applications on behalf of many South African Universities, Science Councils, US Fortune 500, and South African Top 100 companies.

    In 2016, Vishen was hand-picked by the Minister of Science & Technology to sit on the National Intellectual Property Management Office (NIPMO) Advisory Board for a period of 5 years. In addition, he is the co-chair of the American Intellectual Property Law Association’s (AIPLA) Africa Committee.

  • Academic

    • BSc Eng (Electronics) – University of Kwazulu-Natal | 2004
    • LLB – University of South Africa | 2008

  • Qualifications

    • Admitted Attorney | 2009
    • Registered Patent Attorney | 2009

  • Credentials

    • Law Society of the Northern Provinces – Member
    • Law Society of the KwaZulu-Natal – Member
    • South African Institute of Intellectual Property Law (SAIIPL) – Member
    • International Association for the Protection of Industrial Property AIPPI – Member
    • American Intellectual Property Law Association:  Co-chair of the Africa Committee